Our network

Nehro draws post six, made second choice for Belmont | Sports & Recreation

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Nehro draws post six, made second choice for Belmont
Nehro draws post six, made second choice for Belmont

Zayat Stable’s Nehro, who broke his maiden at Oaklawn Park on February 21 and proceeded to wheel off three consecutive second-place finishes in the Louisiana (G2), Arkansas (G1) and Kentucky (G1) Derbies, has drawn post position six of 12 for Saturday’s $1 million Belmont Stakes (G1) and has been installed as the 4-1 second choice on the morning, behind only Kentucky Derby winner Animal Kingdom.

The Mineshaft colt, trained by three-time leading Oaklawn Park conditioner Steve Asmussen, was held out of the May 21 Preakness Stakes, which could bode well for his chances in this year’s 1 ½-mile “Test of Champions.” Since 2000, five horses, who ran in the Kentucky Derby and skipped the Preakness have come back to win the Belmont, including 2009 Arkansas Derby third-place finisher Summer Bird, that year’s champion 3-year-old.

“Mr. [Ahmed] Zayat and his family are very pleased to be running in the Belmont Stakes,” said Brad Weisbord, Zayat Stables racing manager. “New York is like their hometown and to be here is just a dream. We’ve got three seconds in the last three Derbies, being Louisiana, Arkansas and Kentucky, and we hope to shed the bridesmaid’s tag and get the win. Nehro is very versatile, so he really can be anywhere. In Louisiana he was very close; in the Arkansas Derby he was far back. In the Kentucky Derby he was a little closer, but I believe that was because of the slower pace. He’s very versatile. We’re going to leave that up to the jock. Corey Nakatani rode him very well, so we’ll leave it up to those guys.”

The complete field for the $1 million Belmont Stakes, with riders and morning line odds:

  1. Master of Hounds, Garrett Gomez, 10-1
  2. Stay Thirsty, Javier Castellano, 20-1
  3. Ruler On Ice, Jose Valdivia, 20-1
  4. Santiva, Shaun Bridgmohan, 15-1
  5. Brilliant Speed, Joel Rosario, 30-1
  6. Nehro, Corey Nakatani, 4-1
  7. Monzon, Jose Lezcano, 30-1
  8. Prime Cut, Edgar Prado, 15-1
  9. Animal Kingdom, John Velazquez, 2-1
  10. Mucho Macho Man, Ramon Dominguez, 10-1
  11. Isn’t He Perfect, Rajiv Maragh
  12. Shackleford, Jesus Castanon, 9-2