Our network

St. Joseph's honors staff for service | People

Title (Max 100 Characters)

St. Joseph's honors staff for service
St. Joseph's honors staff for service

HOT SPRINGS, Ark. – St. Joseph’s Mercy Health Center held its 2010 Service Awards and Recognition Dinner on January 27 at Horner Hall at Hot Springs Convention Center. Roberta Swaim was named St. Joseph’s Mercy’s Co-Worker of the Year, while Jennifer Thompson received the Pelton Leadership Award.

St. Joseph’s Mercy honored 280 co-workers for their service to the ministry.

In order to be eligible for co-worker of the year, one must first win co-worker of the quarter during that year. The co-worker of the first quarter was Melissa “Missy” Shuffield of Nutrition Services, Swaim won the second quarter, Linda Chadick of 70 West Mercy Clinic won for the third quarter and Holly Crise of Utlilization Management won for the fourth quarter.

Swaim was nominated by her co-workers who said she “constantly goes above and beyond the scope of her job duties to help her fellow co-workers. Roberta’s job consists of many functions, including helping with payroll. She makes sure all of the co-workers she has access to are coded correctly and will even call them at home if needed to make sure their pay is correct. Bertie goes out of her way to help switch or trade days for a co-worker if they need to take care of personal things on the days they are scheduled.”

“Bertie does an excellent job. She is a huge asset to the hospital. I don’t know what we’d do without her,” said co-worker Jennifer Jones.

Thompson was named the winner of the Pelton Leadership Award. Other nominees were Danny Bledsoe of the Cardiac Cath Lab, Jeff Erwin of Nutrition Services, Rick Harris of Hyperbaric/OP Wound Center, Cheryl Lewis of Psych Acute, Phillip Ruth of Imaging Services, Jack Swaim of Plant Maintenance and Fran Werfelmann of Neuroscience.

“Jennifer exemplifies the ideals of Mercy leadership: Mission, Vision, Values and Service. She is an exceptional manager of people and is a delight to work with,” said Chad O’Kane, practice manager in Hot Springs Village. “She is fair, just, worthy of respect, trustworthy, honest, encouraging, supportive and valuing. There is no one more deserving of this award.”

St. Joseph’s Mercy also awarded four team awards on Thursday. The winners were the Epic Implementation team, which helped oversee the transition to fully-integrated electronic health records, the Central Business Office, St. Joseph’s Mercy Express Care Clinic and Outpatient Rehab.

The eight St. Joseph’s Mercy co-workers who reached the 35-year plateau are Andrew Beal, Dr. John Bond, Thomas Hollis, Barbara Navarro, Jon Robert, MD, Mary Jane Smith, Rebecca Wadkins and Sellie Williams.