Our network

Hot Springs Police chief finalists announced | Events

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Hot Springs Police chief finalists announced
Events, News, People
Hot Springs Police chief finalists announced


HOT SPRINGS -- City Manager Lance Hudnell announced today that the finalists for the position of Hot Springs Police Chief include David Flory of Bedford, Texas;  David Ebinger of Moorhead, Minnesota; and Mike McCormick of Hot Springs, Arkansas.

“After careful consideration of 65 applications from several states, the selection committee and I have determined three finalists for on-site interviews,” Hudnell said.  “The committee spent several hours reviewing the applications, determining and interviewing nine semi-finalists, conducting background checks and ultimately selecting three candidates as finalists.  We are very pleased with the quality of the three finalists and look forward to concluding the interview process later this year and in early January.”

The ad hoc citizens selection committee assisting in the selection process includes Sam Stathakis, businessman and Civil Service commissioner; Steve Oliver, prosecuting attorney; Harriel White, minister; Steve Trusty, bank executive; Steve Mallett, Deputy City Manager for Public Works and Utilities; and Hudnell.  Human Resources Director Minnie Lenox and City Attorney Brian Albright serve as committee advisors.

During the recruitment and selection process, which began in June, the city manager’s office solicited ideas from the Hot Springs Board of Directors, Civil Service Commission and community at large regarding that they feel should the ideal candidate profile for the position of police chief.  A candidate profile survey was posted on the city’s Web site and a series of city district public forums were held to receive citizen input.

According to state law, under the city manager form of government with a civil service commission, the city manager has the authority to hire a new chief.  The Civil Service Commission can override his appointment by a majority vote of the commission’s total membership.

Flory brings 31 years of police experience to his current position as Police Chief of Bedford, Texas, a suburban city of 50,000 located within the greater Dallas/Fort Worth area, where he has led the 135-member department for the past 12 years.  (In the case of each city, the department population represents the total number of sworn and non-sworn full-time employees.)  His accomplishments include implementing a community-oriented policing model in 1995; designing and implementing a mobile data computer program for field reporting; and budget oversight of a new $9 million law enforcement center.

Ebinger, who has served since 2006 as Chief of the 68-member Police Department in Moorhead, Minnesota, population 32,000, has 32 years of law enforcement experience, including 28 years at the Little Rock Police Department.  His accomplishments include realigning the command and supervisory structure to provide more line supervision and reduce salary costs; working with other agencies to develop plans for a new detention facility and law enforcement center; and chairing a regional emergency dispatch center.

McCormick, a 28-year veteran of the 136-member Hot Springs Police Department, currently serves as Criminal Investigation Division Commander.  His accomplishments include developing strong partnerships between the Police Department and Garland County Sheriff’s Department to increase the effectiveness of joint tactical operations; pioneering many of the department’s community policing programs; and modernizing the department’s traffic unit. The department serves Hot Springs, a resort town with a population of 36,000 and a service area of about 90,000, including visitors from outside city limits.

Events, News, People